

Volume 19 Number 3 & 4 July - December 1992

EDITORIAL BOARD

Chairman Subir Chowdhury (Director) INDIAN INSTITUTE OF MANAGEMENT CALCUTTA

Members

Ramaswamy P. Aiyar Bani P. Banerjee Hiten Bhaya Hrishikes Bhattacharyya S. K. Chakraborty Subratesh Ghosh Sushil Khanna Arabinda Ray Ranjit Sau Abhijit Sen



Co-ordinating Editors

Kamini Adhikari Amitava Bagchi Sujit K. Basu Amit Bhaduri Satyesh Chakraborty

DESK EDITOR : Tridib Chakraborti EDITOR :

Raghabendra Chattopadhyay

THE OPINION EXPRESSED IN THE PAPERS PUBLISHED IN *DECISION* DO NOT NECESSARILY REPRESENT THE VIEWS OF INDIAN INSTITUTE OF MANAGEMENT CALCUTTA.

DECISION IS THE QUARTERLY JOURNAL OF INDIAN INSTITUTE OF MANAGEMENT CALCUITA. IT IS PUBLISHED BY AMAL BASU FOR INDIAN INSTITUTE OF MANAGEMENT CALCUTTA, DIAMOND HARBOUR ROAD, JOKA, POST BOX NO. 16757, CALCUTTA-700 027 AND PRINTED AT GUPTA QUICK PRINTERS, 162/D/24 LAKE GARDENS, CALCUTTA-45. PHONE : 73-6246, 73-1282

ALL ENQUIRIES AND CORRESPONDENCE MAY BE ADDRESSED TO THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER. PUBLICATIONS DIVISION, INDIAN INSTITUTE OF MANAGEMENT CALCUTTA, DIAMOND HARBOUR ROAD, JOKA, POST BOX NO. 16757, CALCUTTA-700 027, INDIA. PHONES : 77-2390/2391/2429/2685, CABLE : INMANAC. TELEX : 021-2501, FAX : 221498